推薦和反饋

作為核心團隊成員,我不得不參加多個外展會議,沒有固定的職責,因此我有機會觀察不同的志願者。

 

在 CU CHAMPION 的整個旅程中,我目睹了他們中的許多人從訓練課程(甚至是最初的幾次外展課程)中害羞、安靜的人轉變為健談、有愛心的人。

 

當他們相對自由時,他們也更願意互相交談,通常不是來自同一個專業。我認為這是一個非常好的機會,可以促進專業之間的相互理解。

- Man Shing Hin, Pharmacy Student

這是我第一次接觸到一個長期的暑期志願服務項目,這讓我大開眼界。

 

我負責健康總結站,在裡面總結健康檢查數據,給老人提供簡短諮詢 services。這個位置似乎並不重要,但實際上我還必須仔細檢查每個老年人的數據表,以確保沒有遺漏或錯誤。我意識到我很快就會涉足醫療服務領域;有一天,我肯定會檢查患者的表格和數據,與同事合作以盡量減少人為錯誤。

 

更重要的是,我將在一個下午為 40-50 名患者提供服務,就像我在服務計劃中所做的那樣。我相信這是一個讓我接觸臨床相關環境和現實生活情境的好機會,從而了解我應該採取的正確態度和溝通策略,以成為一名更好的醫生。

- 梁耀喬,醫學生

這個外展計劃是有益的,因為有很多機會可以更多地探索社區和老年醫療保健的不同方面。一開始,我認為社區和老年保健只是為了減少患有慢性病的老年人的數量。

 

後來我意識到這只是圖片的一部分。外展會議使我能夠與來自不同專業的同學合作,如醫學、藥學和社會工作。

 

通過與他們合作,我觀察到,為了獲得更好的健康,除了擁有健康習慣的個人之外,還需要採取許多措施。我真的相信,這種經歷使每個參與者都能夠通過致力於改善社區健康來為未來的職業生涯做好準備。

- 羅家倫,護理系學生

人們經常將患有慢性疾病的老年人定型為身體無能、不快樂和孤立的個體。但通過不斷的關心和足夠的關注,這些老人也可以過上幸福而富有成果的生活。在我的外展經驗中,當我進行健康檢查問卷時,他們經常以詼諧的答案讓我感到驚訝。

 

聽他們分享生活中的故事也很有趣。我猜人們之所以有這樣的刻板印象,是因為他們沒有為老年人花足夠的時間。實際上,只要多一點耐心和理解,他們就更願意與我們分享他們自己。這是我們應該抓住機會賦予他們掌控自己健康的能力的時候。醫療團隊的所有成員都在其中發揮著重要作用。

- 黃海俊,藥學學生

我認識到許多老年人患有各種慢性病。常見的包括高血壓、骨質疏鬆症和視力問題,這迫使他們過上健康的生活方式以延長壽命。他們中的大多數人經常鍛煉,避免甜、油和鹹的食物,戒酒和吸煙,以避免那些與衰老相關的疾病。

 

他們的決心和毅力提醒我,作為一名未來的醫生,我也應該反思自己的生活方式,成為自己患者的榜樣。

- 黃子謙,醫學生

這是我加入CU CHAMPION的第二年,為了更深入的了解老人的情況,我選擇了參加。每個老人都帶著他或她自己的故事來了。他們傾向於向剛認識的人透露個人信息,只是因為他們相信我們會永遠走下去。

 

在談話中,很容易發現他們中的許多人獨自生活,沒有家人或鄰居的支持。雖然有幾個老人和他們的孩子住在一起,但年輕人卻忙於謀生。

 

這提醒我隨著時間的流逝,要對父母表現出足夠的關心和關心。我們應該讚美他們的善良;這樣做的人一定會看到世界上最美麗的笑容。

- Wong Tzz Yan, 中醫學生

作為一名與長者接觸甚少的社工學生,我決定加入CU CHAMPION擔任導師。 program 中最有收穫的經歷是見證了老學員們的笑臉。

我很高興能夠為改善他人的生活做出貢獻。

 

除了服務老人,還需要導師帶領一群中學生。這是我了解和理解他們的機會。通過了解他們在各種問題上的想法,拓寬了我的視野。同時,我可以回答他們關於未來學習的問題。我鼓勵那些有興趣為人們服務的人加入這個計劃 -你一定會從中受益匪淺。

- 許志偉,社會工作 Student

冠軍計劃讓 me 有機會了解不同醫療保健專業的細節,讓我了解我感興趣的研究領域。雖然我意識到醫療保健工作可能不適合我,但我很感激這個項目讓我找到了我未來夢想的工作。

 

在項目期間,我結識了一些夢想加入醫療保健領域的朋友。他們很友好,願意互相幫助。 在外展中,我可以使用不同的設備,如血壓計、基本心電圖監測器 和血糖儀。他們看起來很容易操作,但如果我犯了一些錯誤,老人會懷疑他們的健康結果的準確性。如果有人問我是否後悔加入CU Champ,我會響亮地說不。

- 深培林, 高中 Student

在這個課程中,我學到了很多醫學和實踐知識,比如社交技巧。通過與陌生人的交流,我逐漸覺得與人交往很舒服,不像我平時會覺得內向。這個項目教會了我寶貴的經驗,我相信我會永遠珍惜這些回憶。

- 陳偉彥, 高中 Student

 

“非常感謝學生志願者的團隊合作和態度!”

-明愛長者中心 - 梨木樹

 

“我們期待舉辦這樣的健康檢查,讓參與者關注自己的健康。”

-救世軍油麻地長者綜合服務中心

“我們要感謝那天提供幫助的學生志願者。一些志願者幫助護送行動不便的老人到我們的中心。”

-聖公會將軍澳安老服務大樓

 

“所有外展團隊成員都投入到他們的工作中,並且對老人有禮貌。他們詳細而耐心地回答了服務用戶提出的問題。”

-SAGE東區長者社區中心

對我來說,Champ 2017 真的是一個非常有意義的活動。當我知道自己也有能力幫助他人時,我感覺很棒。三個外展活動讓我有機會幫助長者了解健康狀況。我很高興我從幾個方面了解了不同的知識。這對我來說是一次難忘的經歷,因為它們肯定會對我未來有用。

- 林佩嘉, 高中 Student

“我們非常感謝那些熱情、耐心和負責任的志願者。我們還與負責人進行了良好的溝通,暢通了服務流程。”

-香港房屋委員會,就地安老計劃 – 麗德村

“這次活動很有意義,我們期待未來有更多的合作。”

-華富長者中心

 

“我們對學生們的友善、真誠和熱情表示最崇高的敬意。”

-ELCHK馬鞍山區長者社區中心

 

“我們衷心感謝學校安排這次活動,以及負責同事和學生志願者抽出時間來。長者們紛紛稱讚義工們細心、耐心、詳細講解!這項活動提高了他們的健康意識和對預防跌倒的關注。”

-ELCHK善學慈善基金群善興裕翠社區 長者中心

As a core team member, I had to join multiple outreach sessions without having a fixed duty, therefore I got the chance to observe different volunteers.

 

I witnessed many of them transforming from shy, quiet people during training sessions (or even the first few outreach sessions) into talkative, caring individuals throughout the journey in CU CHAMPION.

 

They were also more willing to talk to one another, often not from the same major, when they were relatively free. I think it is a really good opportunity to encourage mutual understanding among professions.

Man Shing Hin, Pharmacy Student

This was my first exposure to a long-term summer volunteering program, which was an eye-opening experience.

 

I was responsible for the health summary station, in which I had to summarize health check data and provide brief counseling services to the elderly. The position seemed unimportant but actually I also had to double-check the data sheets of each elderly to make sure nothing was missed out or mistaken. I realized that I will involve in the healthcare service sector soon; one day I would certainly be checking patients' forms and data, collaborating with colleagues to minimize human mistakes.

 

What is more, I would be serving 40-50 patients in an afternoon just like what I did during the service program. I believe it was a good opportunity for me to expose to clinically-related environments and real life situations, thus understand the proper attitude and communication strategies that I should adopt in order to become a better medical practitioner.

Leung Yiu Joe, Medicine Student

This outreach program is rewarding as there were many opportunities to explore more about different aspects of community and geriatric healthcare. In the beginning, I thought that community and geriatric healthcare was simply about reducing the number of elderly people with chronic illnesses.

 

Afterwards I realized that this is just only part of the picture. The outreach sessions enabled me to collaborate with schoolmates from different professions such as medicine, pharmacy and social work.

 

By working with them, I observed that in order to achieve better health, many measures need to be taken on top of individuals living with healthy habits. I truly believe that this experience enabled every participant to prepare themselves for their future career through dedicating themselves for better community health.

- Law Kar Lun, Nursing Student

People often stereotype elderly people suffering from chronic illnesses as physically incapable, unhappy and isolated individuals. But with constant care and enough attention, these old people can also lead happy and fruitful lives. In my outreach experience, they often surprised me with witty answers as I conducted health screening questionnaires.

 

It was also interesting to listen to them as they shared their stories in life. I guess people have such stereotypes because they haven't devoted enough time for the elderly. Actually, with a little more patience and understanding, they are more than willing to share with us about themselves. This is when we should take the opportunity to empower them with the ability to take charge of their own health. All members of the healthcare team play an essential role in it.

- Wong Hoi Chun, Pharmacy Student

I recognized that many elderly people had various chronic diseases. Common ones included high blood pressure, osteoporosis and visual problems, which forced them to lead a healthy lifestyle in order to extend their lifespan. Most of them exercised regularly, avoided sweet, oily and salty food, and quit drinking and smoking so as to avoid those aging-associated diseases.

 

Their determination and perseverance reminded me that as a future doctor, I should also reflect on my own lifestyle so as to become a role model for my own patients.

Wong Tsz Him, Medicine Student

This is my second year joining CU CHAMPION, and I chose to be a participant in order to have a more in-depth understanding of the elderly’s situation. Every elderly person came with his or her own stories. They tended to disclose personal information to a person just-met, only because they believed that we went for good.

 

During conversations, it was easy to discover that many of them lived alone without any support from family or neighbors. Though several elderly people lived with their children, the young ones were too busy earning a living.

 

This reminded me to show adequate care and concern to my parents as time passes by. We should praise them for their goodness; those who do so will definitely see the most beautiful smile in the world.

- Wong Tsz Yan, Chinese Medicine Student

As a Social Work student who had little contact with the elderly, I decided to join CU CHAMPION as a mentor. The most rewarding experience in the program was the witnessing the smiling faces of the elderly participants.

I was delighted that I was able to contribute in improving others' lives.

 

In addition to serving the elderly, mentors were required to lead a group of secondary school students. It was an opportunity for me to know and understand them. It broadened my horizon by knowing what they had in their minds on various issues. At the same time, I could answer their questions on future studies. I encourage those who are interested in serving people to join this program - you will definitely gain a lot from it.

- Hui Chi Wai, Social Work Student

The Champ program gives me a chance to know the detail of different healthcare professions, making me understand my interested field of study. Although I realize healthcare work may not be suitable for me, I am thankful that this program makes me figure out my future dream job.

 

During the program, I have met some friends who dreamt to join in healthcare field. They are friendly and willing to help each other. In the outreach, I can use different equipment such as blood pressure meter, basic electrocardiogram monitor and blood glucose meter. They seem quite easy to operate but if I had made some mistakes, elderly would wonder about the accuracy of their health result. If someone asked if I regret to join CU Champ, I will resoundingly say no.

- Shum Pui Lam, High-school Student

During this programme, I have learned a lot of medical and practical knowledge such as social skills. Through communicating with strangers, I gradually find interacting with people comfortable, which is not an introvert like me would usually feel. This programme taught me valuable lessons, and I am sure that I will forever cherish these memories.

- Chan Wai Yan, High-school Student

 

"Very appreciate the team work and attitude of the student volunteers!"

-Caritas Elderly Center - Lei Muk Shue

 

“We look forward to holding health checkups like this, which draw participants’ attention to their health.”

-The Salvation Army Yaumatei Multi-Service Centre for Senior Citizens

“We would like to thank the student volunteers who helped out on that day. Some volunteers helped escorting immobilized elderly people to our centre.”

-S.K.H. Tseung Kwan O Elderly Services Building

 

“All outreach team members were engaged in their work and courteous towards the elderly. They detailedly and patiently answered questions raised by service users.”

-SAGE Eastern District Elderly Community Centre

To me, Champ 2017 is really a very meaningful activity. It makes me feel great when I know that I also have the ability to help others. The 3 outreach activities provide me a chance to help the elderly to understand the health condition. I am glad that I have learned about different knowledge from several aspects. It is such a memorable experience to me as they surely will be useful to me in the future.

- Lam Pui Ka, High-school Student

“We highly appreciate the volunteers, who are passionate, patient and responsible. We also had good communication with the people-in-charge, smoothening the flow of the service.”

-Hong Kong Housing Authority, Aging-in-Place Scheme – Lai Tak Tsuen

“The activity was meaningful, and we look forward to more co-operation in the future.”

-Wah Fu Centre for Senior Citizens

 

“We give our highest appreciation towards the friendliness, sincerity and passion of the students.”

-ELCHK Ma On Shan District Elderly Community Centre

 

“We sincerely thank the School for arranging this activity, as well as colleagues-in-charge and student volunteers for taking the time to come. The elderlies profusely praised the volunteers for being attentive, patient and detailed explaining.! The activity raised their health awareness and attention to preventing falls.”

-ELCHK Sheen Hok Charitable Foundation Kwan Shon Hing Yu Chui Neighborhood Elderly Centre

Copyright © 2019  CU CHAMPION